The Last Letter From Sam

Salutations populace of Dawson,

The big news in the world this week is WikiLeaks. Most people I know think the founder of this website, Julian Assange, is a hero for bringing the dark secrets of world governments to light. Others, mostly those who were embarrassed by the memos, think he is a traitor for exposing sensitive diplomatic exchanges; some have even called for his assassination. I will leave that argument to others. The m­orale of that story is that if you don’t want to be embarrassed, don’t write nasty stories about someone behind their backs.

This is why I have always loved the Plant. When I have something nasty to say about someone, I put it in my headlines. I have personally insulted many budding Dawson actors in my theatre reviews; I have crucified so-called art exhibits in my articles; I have assassinated characters (but only metaphorically). And, in turn, I have also been assassinated, (also, thankfully, metaphorically) for doing so. This honesty and transparency is what makes our Dawson society so strong. Let’s hope we never return to a grade school culture of gossip in the washroom, or like so many US “diplomats” exposed in the WikiLeaks’ memos.

This is my last letter as Editor-in-Chief. I guess many people would take the opportunity to write a letter parting their ways with Dawson and the Plant; somewhat of a tearful farewell. It would thank everyone for all the great memories and hours spent sharing a beer or collaborating on a team project. It would make light of stressing out on exams or working after midnight on Plant issues.

However, I don’t see this as a goodbye. We both knew from the start what our relationship was going to be: quick and easy. Maybe we both got attached to each other but, sadly, most relationships don’t last forever. What more is there to say? On that note, I leave you with one more memory of mine from Dawson.

On that, I will say big up to all the great memories and people that crossed my path while at Dawson: All the good teachers, the cool classmates, the PARC staff and last but not least, the Plant club space…

Stay classy, Dawson…Word to your mothers!
Samuel Lavigne Schmidt
Editor-in-Chief
Schmidt.Samuel90@gmail.com

P.S. Shout out to Anna Frey the newly appointed Editor-in-Chief. You’re cool…I guess.

One response to “The Last Letter From Sam

  1. …what’s the “one more” memory from Dawson? Seems to be a missing paragraph.

Leave a Reply

