Letter from the Editor

Salutations populace of Dawson,
I would like to disclose the direction that this newspaper will be taking under my reign as Editor-in-Chief. There has been talk going around that I am not “serious” enough for this position; that I lack a moral compass if you will. There have also been rumours about how I might change this paper into a gossip rag rather than a serious student newspaper. To that I say…what if I like to gossip? Don’t we all like a little juicy scandal from time to time? There’s nothing wrong with a good TeenPeople to escape to. Don’t lie to yourself about this!

In all seriousness though, I care very much about The Plant. I have been working on it as writer and editor for over a year now, and I can honestly say that I consider it to be my Dawson home. I am serious . . . but I still like to have fun . . . A LOT. So, this letter is a promise to you, the Dawson population, that I will do my best to work with this year’s team to produce a quality paper each week, and also include as much fun and gossip as is humanly, legally, and morally possible (well, at least, legally!)

Before I close, I want to take a minute to share my thoughts and reflections on this past summer. I can honestly say that the summer of ’10 was the most jam-packed I’ve ever had. This summer was the summer of love and heartbreak. . .the summer of drugs. . . the summer of alcohol abuse. . . the summer of getting arrested. . . the summer of meeting the oddest people you’ll ever imagine. . . the summer of happiness and depression. What does this all mean? You could ask, how can one person of done all this? I kid you not my friends, each night was an adventure; each day a hangover. I had a blast this summer; however, I am now extremely tired. I have not slept in about three months and I look forward to school and the stability it brings in my life.

That being said, you should now move on to more interesting pieces of writing. Maybe browse through the Arts section to read I Am The Night, Colour Me Black on page 8. Or possibly the Sports section to read Lady Blues Ready To Start Season on page 18, But let’s all face it, you will not read any of these before reading the Voices section, or doing all the activities provided to you in the Super Happy Crazy Fun page.

Stay Classy Dawson…Word to your mothers!

Colour of the Week: Fuschia

Song of the week:
Passing Me By – The Pharcyde

Film of the Week: The Following

Clothing of the Week: Beanie

Instrument of the Week: Obo

Fruit of the Week: Papaya

Word of the Week: Clusterfuck

Food of the Week: Mussels Fries

Random activity to do this Week:
Lawn Bowling

Samuel Lavigne Schmidt
Editor-in-Chief
Samuel_Schmidt90@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

