Dawson Student Union 2010-2011Reps

Ariel Charney

Program/Semester:
First Choice Health Sciece,
4th semester

Position:
Chairperson

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?

I would like to see the DSU have increased visibility amongst new students on campus. Next year, the executive plans to implement new like humanitarian trip opportunities, working on decreasing bookstore prices, keeping CEGEP tuition fees free, committing to new sustainability targets on campus, and having more speakers and documentary screenings throughout the year.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?

Having experience being an executive of the DSU for the past 2 years has allowed me to learn how to manage my time effectively. I know what sort of commitment to expect.

Anything else you would like thestudents of Dawson to know?

I am highly approachable, so drop by the office and say hi!

Amanda Arella

Program/Semester:
General Social Science,
2nd semester

Position:
Deputy Chairperson

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
While I’m in office, I would like to see Dawson, as a whole, become a greener school. I would also love to see an increase in school spirit and involvement from all the students at Dawson.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
I plan on dedicating several hours per week to my position, but it’ll really depend on how much work I have to do. Basically, I will dedicate as long as it takes to get the job done!

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
I expect, or at least hope, that the student body will be open to all the campaigns, events and ideas proposed or planned by the DSU.

Michaël Lessard

Program/Semester:
Law, Society and Justice,
2nd semester

Position:
Treasurer

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
I will stop any lost of money that served some self-interests and make sure that any student who has a great project for student life will find funding.  I would like to improve the flow of information between students and the Union.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
All the time necessary to successfully achieved our projects and makes sure the students’ money is efficiently, fairly and transparently distributed. Thus, I am prepared to give 15 hours a week.

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
As Gandhi said, “be the change you want to see in the world”. So, get involve and come with us to improve student life.

Madison Mcleod

Program/Semester:
Literature, 2nd semester

Position:
Academic & Advocacy

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
I’d really like students to be able to feel like Dawson is their home, I’d like to be able to improve some student teacher relationships and mediate any academic problems that arise that students will come to see me about. I’d like to be the student voice in the academic realm.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
At least a good hour or so per day (times 7) so 7 hours but it may be split two in one day, three in another depending on my availability

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
I’m really thrilled about next year because I think the new DSU Executiver is really excited about making a difference next year and I think because of enthusiasm and commitment we’ll be able to make it an amazing year for the student body.

Nadia Kanji

Position:
Internal & Advocacy

Other information not available

Shannon Gittes

Program/Semester:
Child Studies, 2nd semester

Position:
External Affairs

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
During my time in office, I would like to have  more interaction with other CEGEPs.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
As much thats needed to get the job done as well as possible

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
I’d like for the student body to participate more and I’ll try my best to represent them well.

Tanysha Castelo

Position:
Clubs & Services

Other information not available

Jillian Ward

Program/Semester:
Liberal Arts, 2nd semester

Position:
Athletic Activities

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
I would like to see Dawson as a school with a more community-type atmosphere. I’d like students, especially incoming students, to be aware of the many opportunities (academically, athletically, socially and creatively) available to them at the college. Dawson is so huge that many first year students feel lost when they first arrive and I’d like the DSU to fix that.

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
Around two to four hours I suppose, depending on what we are doing that week.

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
I would like to see the student body actively communicating with the DSU. This is all we need to make the school a better place.

Matthew Mancini

Program/Semester:
Literature, 2nd semester

Position:
Communications & Media

What are the major changes you would like to see while you’re in office?
There are a lot of things I’d really like to see happen at Dawson. I think the most important one for me is our sustainability campaign, to try and promote recycling. For me personally, I want to make the DSU more accessible to new students, because I remember how hard it was for me to adjust and I think we can help with that. Hell, I’m still adjusting!

How much time per week do you plan on dedicating to your position?
I’ll definitely put in as much time as is needed.

Anything else you would like the students of Dawson to know?
All I can say is, I’m sure next year is going to be great for everyone, and I’m really looking forward to working with everybody.

Leave a Reply

