Bitch Slap’d

by Bianca Brais

You’d think that once in college, people would break out of their shells and finally start meeting new people. This goes for both guys and girls! The Canada Goose Jacket girls stick together, debating whose jacket is the most expensive, while guys hang out based on what basketball teams they like. It gets really annoying. When you sit next to someone for 14 weeks, a person would like to think that by the end of the semester they would have at least exchanged a few more words than, “what kind of cell phone do you have?”
This isn’t like high school where we have seating plans! Veronica, a second semester, Cin/Vid/Com student doesn’t understand why it is so hard, for guys especially, to make conversation. “Why should I talk to him? He has a mouth, why doesn’t he say something?” I’m sure a lot of girls can relate to that. Sitting next to a guy, hoping that one of these weeks, before the end of the semester, he would say something.  Why is it so hard? “At least he’s good looking,” Veronica said, “that’s pretty much all he has going for him. He never says anything. Is there something wrong with me? Do I repulse guys so much that they can’t find it in their soul to say one thing?” I can just imagine sitting next to a hot guy, pretending to do my own thing, but deep down hoping he’d stop being so stupid and that he’d finally start talking to me. In the end, when he reaches over and taps your arm, you think, this is it; but, all that comes out of his mouth is, “can I borrow a pencil?”
It’s really aggravating! I was so happy to graduate high school, to go to college and meet new people, but I’m surrounded by all these immature guys who think blowing snot bubbles is funny and girls who act like total snobs, thinking they own the school wearing their sweat pants and Ugg boots. Based on all the divisions in the cafeterias, I’m pretty sure none of these stereotypes will change. I’ll be back next semester, awkwardly walking down the “Italian Caf” trying to look for a seat. I can still imagine getting dirty looks from girls, mocking the coat I got at Winners because of the fake fur around my hood. College isn’t about making new friends or finding yourself; it’s about uncomfortable conversations and self-confidence issues. Forget it, if you don’t own a Blackberry or have the latest Juicy purse, there’s no way you’ll make it through college without changing programs 12 times, hoping you’ll make new friends!
Got anything to complain about? Tell me what’s going through your head at bianca.brais@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

